Back to All Events

Resist Fracking in the Flint Hills!

  • Emporia State University 1 Kellogg Circle Emporia, KS, 66801 United States (map)

We will hold an educational demonstration in Union Square of the ESU campus to speak out against the injection well application filed with the Kansas Corporation Commission.

Please read the following information regarding Waste Water Disposal in the FLINT HILLS
Application for Permission to Authorize the Injection of Saltwater into the Arbuckle Formation at the well known as Sly 2-6 SWD, located in the NE NE SE of Section 6 Township 17S Range 6E in Morris County, Kansas. (Docket No. 17-CONS-3484-CUIC) 
The well site is in the Arbuckle Formation, directly over the Nemaha Ridge (a basement uplift). On the eastern side is the Humbolt Fault zone, with multiple, parallel faults trending generally N/NW. The Wolf Creek Nuclear Power Plant is located less than 100 miles from the injection well (a well allowing for the disposal of wastewater that is deemed too toxic to come into contact with useable water) for which Quail Oil & Gas Lc has applied for a permit to inject. This would allow (potentially toxic waste salt water) to be injected from local AND remote extraction wells.

REASONS FOR CONCERN:
Contamination of Drinking Water & Waterways
*Many residents depend on well water
*Livestock/local economy depends on clean waterways
*Contamination of natural waterways, diminished ability to hunt fish & boat
Potential Earthquakes Resulting in Uncompensated Economic Damages to Personal and Public Property
*recent investment in infrastructure, Chase Co. water system improvements
*recent investment in Chase Co. Courthouse improvement
*recent Chase Co. School District bond issue
*Council Grove Lake Dam becoming compromised

WHAT YOU CAN DO RIGHT NOW-
Contact any of your elected officials to inform them of your opposition to this and any future injection wells in the Flint Hills of Kansas.

Emporia City Commission
Call (620) 343-4250

Jon Geitz Mayor
jgeitz@emporia-kansas.gov

Danny Giefer Vice-Mayor
dgiefer@emporia-kansas.gov

Steve Harmon City Commissioner
sharmon@emporia-kansas.gov

Rob Gilligan City Commissioner
rgilligan@emporia-kansas.gov

Bobbi Mlynar City Commissioner
bmlynar@emporia-kansas.gov

State Senator Jeff Longbine - 785-296-7384
Jeff.Longbine@senate.ks.gov

State Representative Mark Schreiber - 785 296-2721
Mark.Schreiber@house.ks.gov

State Reprsentative Eric Smith - 785 296-7557
Eric.Smith@house.ks.gov